Check out my new amp project(amp builders needed)

Discuss anything in general that has to do with music.

Moderators: MrSpall, bassjones, sevesd93, zenmandan

Austin_Taunt
Regular
Regular

Check out my new amp project(amp builders needed)

Post by Austin_Taunt »

This was my Christmas gift from the wife. She got me a Soldano SLO 100 clone kit. Its a Weber chassis but the rest was sourced myself. I made some PCB boards and they are ready for wiring but wanted your opinion. Should I sell these and make some handwired turret boards?? Im still new to this game and dont know if I should go with what I got or make it completely handwired....may just be preference.

Here are a few pics...spent about 3 hrs so far...will post as it progresses.

Silencio
RockStar
RockStar

Post by Silencio »

There's nothing wrong with the audio quality of a PCB amp: the only decent Fender in the mid-range of their line anymore (IMO, of course) is the '65 Deluxe Reverb Re-Issue, which is mostly a wave-soldered PCB, and it sounds great.

The biggest problem with PCB amps is:

Bad circuit design and/or tube sockets mounted on the PCB board. Look at Fender Hot Rod Deluxe/DeVille//DeLemon for perfect examples of boards that are born to die.

If the tube sockets on your kit are chassis-mounted (and I can see that they are), then it's probably fine.

My main studio tube amp is PTP wired, but if the same circuit was on a pCB and it used these NOS tubes, I think it would sound the same.
Oliver's Army
Too Much Free Time
Too Much Free Time

Post by Oliver's Army »

Heathkit
dofus hipster
I Been Around
I Been Around

Post by dofus hipster »